Definining YOLO (Why I’m doing this.)

YOLO. Apparently the acronym was all the rage with teens and pre-teens. As I’m no longer a part of either of those groups, I didn’t hear about it until it wasn’t cool anymore, or, like, whatever. But I’m ok with that.

It stands for “You Only Live Once,” though I’ve heard several other phrases that I like more:

  • You Obviously Love Owls
  • You Obviously Like Oreos
  • Yes Obama Likes Oprah
  • Your Ocelot Looks Outraged

Ok, so I might have made one of those up.

Anyway, why write my first ever blog post about an acronym everyone loves to hate? Even though it’s kind of stupid, it’s not a bad life philosophy. It is, after all, true (apologies to those who believe in reincarnation). I have this life, right now, and I want to use it to its fullest. As terrifying as it is, I want to push myself outside of my comfort zone.

This story starts with my seeing an ad on the el for Team Challenge. Slightly curious and seriously bored, I looked up the website to help pass the time, and was intrigued by what I saw. Team Challenge is a fundraising and endurance sports group. Basically, they train you to compete in an endurance race (running, cycling, triathlon), and in return, you fundraise for their parent organization, the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA).

So, long story short, I’ll be running in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half-Marathon in Las Vegas in December! As part of Team Challenge, I get a training schedule and a group to train with, fundraising ideas and support, and a variety of workshops on related topics. In return, my fundraising goal is $3700. (Please click the link above to read about CCFA, and consider donating if you can. At least 82% of all fundraising money goes directly to fund research and patient services.)

I started this blog as a way to keep myself motivated, and to let you all know what I’m up to. I’ll be posting regularly about my training, fundraising, and other things that come up along the way. I’m really excited to take on this challenge as I start a new chapter in my life, and I’m even more excited that you’ll all be sharing the journey with me. Your support means the world to me! Peace.

Click here to visit my fundraising page.

One thought on “Definining YOLO (Why I’m doing this.)

  1. Pingback: A Girl’s Gotta Eat (Rice & Beans) | Go Laura Go!

Leave a Reply

