Looking Over the Edge (What’s next.)

See? Not a good idea.

So here I am, two days away from training, hoping I’ll be able to do this. Getting started is always the hardest part, and the most terrifying. Like looking over the edge of a half-pipe right before you go down (or so I would imagine – I’ve never actually done it because putting a giraffe (me) on a skateboard cannot possibly be a good idea).

I guess it’s also exciting in a way. So much potential, and all that jazz. So many possibilities, so much this, so much that. At least, that’s what I’m supposed to say I think. Right now I’m just anxious, about physical training, about the amount of fundraising I have to do. Really just about finding my way through life in general. But I think that’s ok.

I’m right at the beginning of a lot of new things, and that’s a lot to take in. I’m 99% sure I won’t die or end up homeless, and I plan on using that thought to calm myself down for the time being. Once things get rolling, I know I’ll feel more comfortable. (Yeah, I brought back that skateboard metaphor. What.)

Sometimes things are scary.

All of this only leads me to conclude what Sesame Street probably tried to teach me in my formative years: sometimes new things are scary, but trying to new things is the best way to learn. Also, don’t ever live in a garbage can, because you’ll turn into a grouch.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for your support. Peace.

2 thoughts on “Looking Over the Edge (What’s next.)

  1. Laura: It’s totally OK! Love that you’re challenging yourself in this way–and sure understand the anxiety! Last year I started piano lessons–and you know (about) how old I am (but your Mom’s still older)! If I can do that (jury is still out), you just keep looking over the edge! And then look up and see how many of us are right there with you! (And now for my blog on how scary it is to master the keyboard, visit blogger.com/…) 🙂 Hugs!

Leave a Reply

