A journey of 1000 miles… (& some dynamic stretches.)

A journey of 1000 miles begins with a single step.

Ok, so I don’t think I’ll actually be running 1,000 miles, but it’s a helpful proverb nonetheless. I’ve taken that first step, I’ve started fundraising for CCFA (click here to visit my fundraising page), and I’ve started training. I’m literally off and running.

Done with day 1 of training: a 1.5 mile run. Nothing I haven’t done before, but it was faster than I usually go. Judging by my wheezing at the end, apparently pretty significantly faster. But I guess what doesn’t kill you…

Needless to say, I was glad that my new running coaches had had us all warm up properly (something I usually don’t do because, well, for no good reason actually). Since this isn’t something I’m used to doing, but something I definitely need to continue, I’m sharing it with all of you in the hopes that it will guilt me into remembering.

Without further ado: Running Warm-Up/My Favorite Dynamic Stretches

These exercises are short bursts of movement to get your muscles moving and get blood flowing. I’m told that dynamic stretches are better to warm up with than static stretches (what most people think of when they think of stretching) because static stretches on cold muscles are the equivalent of trying to stretch a frozen rubber band. Ain’t nobody got time for that. So…

High Knees

Stand straight with feet hip-width apart. Bend your left leg and bring your knee up to your chest, as high as it will go. Lower it back to the ground. Repeat with right leg for 1 rep. Do about 20 reps.

You can do this standing still or walking/jogging forward. Please use your judgement and don’t run into any walls. Not that anyone I know has ever done that…

Hamstring Stretch (I think they called it a Russian Walk, but that seems weird to me…)

Stand with feet hip-width apart. Extend left arm. Keeping knee straight, bring left leg up so that your toes touch your left hand. Repeat with right leg and right arm to complete 1 rep. Do about 20 reps.

Again, you can do this standing still or walking forward.
Cross Toe-Touch

This is just like the one before, but touching opposite hand and foot. Raise your right arm, then raise your left leg until your toes touch your right hand. Switch to left arm and right leg to complete 1 rep. Again, around 20 reps.

Again, do this standing still or walking forward.

So that’s all for my lovely post on dynamic stretching. Super fun, I know, but good for me to remember. And hey, maybe someone out there learned something.

After your run, make sure to spend at least 5-10 mins doing some static stretches (what most people typically think of when they think of stretching). I’ll do a post about my favorite static stretches sometime in the near future. Maybe I’ll even be brave enough to put up pictures of myself demonstrating them. Maybe. No promises.

One thought on “A journey of 1000 miles… (& some dynamic stretches.)

  1. Pingback: The Deal with Stretching: Dynamic vs. Static « Gettin' My Healthy On

Leave a Reply

