Dickinson & Kafka (Why I’m still doing this.)

I’ve had a couple requests to post the poem that I turned into an art project in my last post.  I’ve since trashed and re-done the aforementioned art project, but here’s the poem nonetheless:

If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can save one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting robin
Unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain.

-Emily Dickinson

I came across this poem on Pinterest, and it really stuck with me. It breaks down everything I’ve been worrying about lately. It removes all of the unnecessary, and leaves only the essential: help someone. This, to me, is the meaning of life. Share it with others and make it better for them.

I didn’t originally join Team Challenge for this reason; my motives were selfish. I wanted a concrete goal, I wanted a support group, I wanted to run a half-marathon. But my motives have gone through a metamorphosis of sorts. Yes, I still want everything I just mentioned, and I don’t want to give up, but the most important thing now is to help. To help all of the brave people I’ve met, and the ones I’ve known for a while who’ve recently told me what they’re going through.

I’m not even halfway in, but I can say without hesitation that this is one of the most difficult things I’ve done. But, if the money I raise helps just one person, this has all been worth it. If it shortens or eliminates one hospital stay, keeps one person from needing an ostomy bag, or even lets one person know that they are supported and loved, this has not been in vain.

I’m doing this for my friend who had her colon removed in high school and missed months of school. For my friends who’ve lost relatives to complications from Crohn’s or colitis. For my friend who just had her diagnosis changed and is adjusting to her new meds. For one of our Team Challenge honorees (below) who sent me a hand-drawn postcard with the message, “Thanks for signing up for something so awesome.”

I’m still doing this because I want to help. Help me help them. Peace.

One thought on “Dickinson & Kafka (Why I’m still doing this.)

  1. Pingback: Falling off the wagon (motivational techniques?) | Go Laura Go!

Leave a Reply

