A 5-mile treat (The world’s best brownies.)

I’ve officially completed three 5-mile runs in my training with Team Challenge. Two of them totally kicked my ass, but I managed to do alright through one of them! So I think a treat is in order. You may remember my philosophy about treating yourself, but in case you don’t, the gist of it is that I think small treats along the way are great, as long as you make them for yourself.

I also like to keep my treats in proportion to my accomplishments. A 5-mile run is a big step up for me. Running with no break for somewhere between 50 mins and 1 hour, depending on how much my ass is getting handed to me? That’s not something I do with ease. Hence, rich, dense brownies. These brownies are, quite simply, the best I’ve ever had. Which is why it does pain me a bit to share the recipe. So I hope you appreciate what you’re getting out there! Well? Do you?!

Hello, beautiful batter/dough.

Ok, sorry. Of course I’m more than happy to share. Just treat this recipe with the respect it deserves. Which is all of it. All the respect are belong to these brownies. (If you’re not as big of a nerd as me, the terrible grammar in that last sentence was purposeful, I promise.)

Not only are these brownies delicious, they break all the rules. You don’t cream the butter and sugar – you MELT the butter and sugar. You add dry ingredients INTO wet not once, but twice – baking blasphemy! You add the flour last. You use almost a full cup more sugar than flour. What has this world become?!

Wonderful, that’s what. Rules are helpful. They’re great teaching tools; they’re good guidelines. Rules are how we process and define the world. But sometimes it’s WAY better when you break them. Evidence: these brownies.

See? I told you.

A few warnings:

1. These are not good for you, but they’re awesome for your soul. With 4 whole eggs, these brownies are über dense and therefore delicious. Cut them small.

2. The batter is thick. Like, more of a dough than a batter. You’ll have to spread it into the pan.

3. There is no warning number 3. Just make the damn things already. Seriously. And once they’re in the oven, you have 30 mins to do things like get the laundry out of your creepy rape-basement. So make them. Now.

Now, without further ado: The World’s Best Brownies!

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
2+1/4 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1+1/4 cups Dutch-process cocoa
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1+1/2 cups flour
2 cups chocolate chips (optional)

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9×13 pan. (If you want to halve this recipe, an 8×8 pan works well.)

2. In a medium-sized microwave-safe bowl, or in a saucepan set over low heat, melt the butter, then add the sugar and stir to combine. Return the mixture to the heat (or microwave) briefly, just till it’s hot, but not bubbling; it’ll become shiny looking as you stir it. Transfer the mixture to a mixing bowl.

3. Stir in the cocoa, salt, baking powder and vanilla.

4. Add the eggs, beating till smooth; then add the flour and chips, beating till well combined.

5. Bake the brownies for 28 to 30 minutes. Remove them from the oven, and after 5 minutes loosen the edges with a table knife. Cool completely before cutting and serving.

Not sure why this picture is so orange…

One thought on “A 5-mile treat (The world’s best brownies.)

  1. Pingback: Falling off the wagon (motivational techniques?) | Go Laura Go!

Leave a Reply

