A birthday and some pictures.

This weekend I went out to Cedarville, IL (birthplace of Jane Addams of Hull House) for my great uncle’s 90th birthday party. And it was quite the party. Seriously, I was exhausted afterwards. But 90 years of incredibly full life deserve a serious celebration.

I saw family I hadn’t seen in years; I met some people who hadn’t seen me since I learned to walk; and the fall leaves were at their peak. The pictures don’t do them justice. They were breathtaking at every turn – and I really do mean that. As much as I love Chicago, there just aren’t enough trees for those kinds of scenes.

I was supposed to go for a 6 mile run, but I stopped to take so many pictures that I think it ended up only being somewhere around 5 1/2. And I’m fine with that. After and hour and 15 minutes, I decided to head back in so that my family didn’t think I’d gotten lost/fallen off a bridge/died. Probably a good decision in the long run.

Enough talk. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves (they’re from my phone, so the quality isn’t great, but it’ll do).

A tiny Post Office for a tiny, tiny town.

They test the sirens at noon. Every day. Good news: they always work.

This is a hill where I come from. Don’t judge.

Yep.

Addams family house

See?? Jane Addams is kind of a big deal.

Why I love running in the country: on one side of the road, houses; on the other side, this.

The old school house – now a museum

The former home of close family friends

A 2-room settlers’ house on my great uncle’s property

An upstairs window in the Little House

Going downstairs in the Little House

Why the cemetary?
1. To visit Grandpa
2. To see the cool old (really old) gravestones

Grandpa’s view

6 thoughts on “A birthday and some pictures.

  1. Charlie is very upset that I’m crying, Laura. I told him it was your fault 😉 Beautiful pictures and so great to see you!

  2. Laura, what an extraordinary record of Cedarville and Paul’s 90th! We especially enjoyed seeing you once again and chatting at the reception.

Leave a Reply

