Getting back on the wagon? Also, a freak-out.

So, dear friends, we meet again. Apologies for my prolonged absence from the blogosphere (that’s a word that people use – I didn’t make it up, I promise!). My life got crazy, and coupling that with my lack of motivation (see my previous post) made it really difficult for anything to happen. But I found a rhythm, and got back into the swing of things.

For the most part, this newfound “rhythm” has just been actually doing things. Getting up and taking care of them. For example, I have no dirty dishes in my kitchen sink right now. And I’m going to brag about that. (Also, I feel the need to clarify: I have no dirty dishes in my sink because I’ve washed them all, not just because I’ve been stashing them somewhere else in my apartment. Win.)

This sort-of forced rhythm has come just in time too. I’m in the last 2 weeks of my fundraising campaign for CCFA, and I have less then $200 to go (click here to help me and the 1.4 million Americans with IBD). I have 1 month until my half-marathon in Vegas, and I’m running the Hot Chocolate 15K on Sunday. As in, this weekend. Almost 10 miles, which I have never done before.

Now, I wouldn’t be so worried if it weren’t for my Joyce knees (my mom’s side of the family has horrible knees). They’ll get you every time. Lately, my left knee has developed a sort of stabbing, suck-it-you-have-to-walk-now type pain after the first half-mile or so. Worrisome. But, I have noticed during my runs that my form and straight-up will power have a surprisingly big impact on how much pain I’m in. I have to try releasing the tension from different muscle groups until I find one that helps. Also I have to just suck it up and keep going.

After talking with one of my coaches and doing some of my own research, I think it’s an IT band problem. Should I go see a doctor? Maybe. Am I going to? Most likely not. I don’t think distance running is in my future, so I’ve only got to stick it out for another month. Most responsible attitude? Definitely not. But I’m ok with that. Despite what WebMD would say, I doubt this is knee cancer (note: not a real thing), or pshythriocitotoxicyoudienow-osis (note: also not a real thing). So, I’m going to follow the wise words of Kelly Clarkson: what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger (note: she was definitely the first person to say that ever — note on the previous note: definitely not true).

Maybe that attitude wouldn’t work for everyone, but it works for me. It helps me keep everything in perspective (and therefore not freak out). When I’m running, it’s just running. It’s not like I’m in combat, or running from a murder. It’s just running at my own pace, because it’s something I want to do. The worst that can happen on Sunday is that I’ll have to walk a little bit. (And I’ll still get chocolate fondue at the end. Seriously. It’s the best race ever.)

Reading over this post, I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’ve just gotta get up and do it, as well as I can. And if I can’t do something, I find a temporary solution (i.e. fake it), until I have time to really fix the issue (thanks for that lesson, music school!). If I don’t have time to fix the issue, I make time. I just do it. Peace.

2 thoughts on “Getting back on the wagon? Also, a freak-out.

Leave a Reply

